“Let’s get completly wasted, it’s gonna be fun” – Really?!

I was at a party yesterday night, a big party, and it inspired me this post. I just don’t get why people drink to the point that they don’t even know what they’re doing. Where is the fun in getting sick, not being able of walking/get your stuff back before leaving/coming home?

I walked a friend home last night because she wasn’t even able to WALK. I had to carry her. She lives at the opposite of me, so it was an extra 45 minutes for me, it meant I would have to walk back alone to my house in desert streets at 5am. I didn’t mind; making sure she was fine was my priority. But what when you’re not lucky enough to have a friend there who cares enough to do this for you? I couldn’t help thinking of how my friend would have done if I hadn’t been there. She would have forgotten all her stuff at the party. Even if she had her bag, she would have lost it in the street. She wouldn’t have been able to walk back to her house, so would she have just slept there, somewhere in the street? And even if she had finally managed to make it home, what would have happened to her on her way home? She was totally powerless, defenceless.She could have been attacked, robbed or worse. It just gives me chills just thinking about it.

What about those kids who take the car to get back home? In such states, there is 100% chances you get an accident. How could you drive when you can barely walk? That’s it, you can’t. So that’s what I was wondering: is drinking so much really worth it? Are you willing to take the risk to get robbed, raped or killed just to get wasted to a party? Don’t wait until something awful happens to you before you start realizing what alcohol could do to you.

I don’t say we should never drink. I’m not a moron. I’m a young adult like many of you, I party too. But why do young people can’t control themselves? Why wouldn’t you just stop when you realize you’re already pretty tipsy/drunk? Why going for this one or two extra glasses?You are gonna ruin your night and your friends’ night. Sure, I will never let a friend down when they’re in such state. But I really am tired of palying “Sam” all the time, of walking people home, of holding friends’ hair in the bathroom, of preventing friends from making mistakes. Booze can bring some fun … until it doesn’t anymore.

I am proud to say I don’t need to be wasted to have fun. I like to be tipsy sometimes, it’s fun. But I’m proud to say I have never been drunk. I am proud to say I have never been lamely vomitting on someone’s shoes, or laying drunk on the floor. I am proud to say that I have never ruined someone’s night by forcing them to take care of me because I couldn’t do that myself. I’m proud to say that I have always been able to go home on my own without any problem after a party. That’s it.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Being drunk in heels is never easy. Well said!

    Reply
  2. Just happened to stumble on your blog and have to give you kudos for being so young but wise beyond your years. It’s sad to say, but I personally know many adults who are married and have children of their own that still can’t figure this one out.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I think it’s sad that people can’t realize that there’s a limit not to cross; that some people can’t be responsible. Especially when you have children, as you said. But they won’t listen so what could we do?! *sigh*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

